© David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

got hold of a good thing

 

above: linear polarization – 2017

 

 

© David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

electromagnetic induction – 2017

 

 

© David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

amplitude – 2017

 

 

© David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

beamwidth – 2017

 

 

© David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

cross polar isolation – 2017

 

It was mostly because I’d seen Neil deGrasse Tyson’s Cosmos show about Michael Faraday a few weeks ago. But while sitting parked in rush hour traffic the other day, I started to think about all the waves and particles that were bombarding me in my car – radio waves, satellite and cellular signals, and microwaves primarily.

I’ve been looking into it and it turns out that in large cities like Chicago, there are indeed an incredible amount of radio and television transmissions, cell phone and satellite transmissions and microwaves bouncing around all day, everyday.

So while these images are indeed a kind of record of my commute, I’m also alluding to the unseen electronic world that Michael Faraday made possible.

 

 

© David Moenkhaus - All Rights Reserved

©David Moenkhaus 2017

electro luminescent – 2017

 

 


While the quote below by Michael Faraday is revealing on a couple of levels, I’ve included it here mostly because I like that there’s resignation as well as optimism in the same line about his work with electro magnetism.

 

 

 

I am busy just now again on Electro-Magnetism and think I have got hold of a good thing but can’t say; it may be a weed instead of a fish that after all my labour I may at last pull up.
-Michael Faraday
Michael Faraday

Michael Faraday – 1861

 

 
 


Leave a Reply

