© David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

a fragile gift

 

 

above: plexi window fragments – Markham, IL 2017

 

 

© David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

car glass – Markham, IL 2017

 

 

Both of these images were made in Markham, IL last week. I’ve been photographing a section of land there (less than 1 square mile) that was recently denuded of all vegetation, in what I assume to be construction prep of some kind.

 

Though it was shocking to see such a dramatic change in the landscape, it also revealed a series of ramshackle structures that had been hidden by all the trees and dense vegetation. The abandoned homes and the battlefield – like landscape drew me in and I ended up photographing what homes were left – almost all of them were deserted and falling down.

I’ve had to work more quickly than I usually do on this project. I went back a few days after my first day of photographing the area, and one of the homes I had made an image of 2 days prior, was already demolished.

 

I’ll post more images of the Markham houses August 24th.

 

 


 

Beauty is a fragile gift.
-Ovid

 



 

Leave a Reply

