Light rail II

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

over/under 4309 – Chicago 2017

 


 

If you shoot on the streets of Chicago (especially at night like I do) you’ll probably meet what I’ll just call, a variety of characters. Sometimes it’s Chicago’s finest stopping by for a chat and sometimes it’s curious on lookers asking me asking me what I’m doing. I don’t mind answering a few questions while I work but it’s people who yell at you as they drive by that irritate me the most. I was a witness to it a lot during my time in the movie business. Anytime we were filming on the streets of Chicago, I’d always hear people yelling at us as they drove by. Or they’d just shout stuff from across the street from behind the barricades.

“Hey, take my picture, take my picture, take my picture! Yo dude, when’s this gonna be on? How much does that camera cost? Hey man I’m an actor, put me in your movie.”

Things haven’t changed much – several people yell at me as I made this image last night. But then, I was by myself (the less crew members the more yelling) and it was a Saturday night in Chicago.

It was 85 degrees and people were just starting to head out into the humid summer night to sample the embarrassment of riches that is Chicago.

 

This image is part of my Light Rail series.

 

 


 

 

And then when I went to Chicago, that’s when I had these outer space experiences and went to the other planets.
-Sun Ra


 

Leave a Reply

