rookie move

 

above: John Belushi & Dan Aykroyd talking with John Lee Hooker during filming of the Maxwell Street scene in the Blues Brothers movie – Chicago, summer of 1979. Probably taken by unit photographer Peter Sorel

 

 

 

 

 

 

Huarache vendor & street performer – Maxwell St. Market Chicago 2017

 

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

pliers – Maxwell St. Market

 

I was so excited to visit the new Maxwell Street Market that I pulled a rookie move and forgot to pack at least 2 fully charged batteries for my Sony RX100 V on Sunday. I was only able to make a handful of exposures before my 2 batteries died. Experience has taught me to always think about batteries and the charge they hold at any given time. But I forgot to check this time because I was thinking about all the awesome Mexican food that we would be trying.

The batteries in the little Sony RX100 V that I was using aren’t the longest lasting batteries, either. I’ll probably end up owning 4 – 6 of the little $40 cells.

I realized later that the site of the current Maxwell St. Market on Des Plaines Street where I made the images above, is also where I made the image below, on a very cold spring night, a few months ago.

 

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

Willis & Bart from Des Plaines St. – Chicago 2017 

 

 


 

 

Experience is simply the name we give our mistakes.
-Oscar Wilde

 

 



 

Leave a Reply

