there isn’t a train I wouldn’t take

 

 

above: all down hill – 2017

 


 

 

I made the image above last night with the new Hasselblad X1D and the 45mm lens.

This image is now part of my Light Rail portfolio. But it’s also relevant today (Father’s Day 2017) because my Dad and I shared many hours together with model trains when I was a little kid. We built a small HO scale layout on a sheet of birch ply in the basement one year. The two of us, often with Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass coming out of the huge console stereo in the basement, ran the engine and cars around and around that track and for me it was pure fun. Those are some of the sweetest memories I have of my dad.

I loved and worshipped him but after I began playing the trumpet in 4th grade – for a short time there,  I really wanted to be Herb Alpert!

 

Happy Father’s Day!

 

 

 

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

my Dad – circa 1958

 

 

 


 

My heart is warm with the friends I make,
And better friends I’ll not be knowing,
Yet there isn’t a train I wouldn’t take,
No matter where it’s going.
― Edna St. Vincent Millay, The Selected Poetry

 

 



 

One thought on “there isn’t a train I wouldn’t take

  1. Pingback: light and time | MOENKHAUS PHOTOGRAPHY

Leave a Reply

