©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

on his own retina

 

 

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

eye doctor office self-portrait – 2017

 

 

 

Twice a year and with some unfounded trepidation, I make the trek to my eye doctor for a battery of tests to make sure everything’s ok with my eyes. Usually, they just put drops in them to dilate my pupils so they can check my optic nerve and other stuff. Sometimes they take a picture of my retina.

But this time I had to stick my head in a big, white, plastic sphere, and watch as very faint points of lights flashed on and off inside of the sphere. It’s a test to check the health of my retina and optic nerve, but that particular test always makes me a little mental. It’s deliberately tough – the pinpoints of light vary from almost imperceptible to faint random flashes.

I know it’s for my own good and it only takes about ten minutes, but I still wish I could skip that particular test.

 

 


 

‘Impressionism’ was the name given to a certain form of observation when Monet, not content with using his eyes to see what things were or what they looked like as everybody had done before him, turned his attention to noting what took place on his own retina (as an oculist would test his own vision).
-John Singer Sargent

 

 

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

 

 

 

 

 



 

Leave a Reply

