©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

the essence of a matter

 

header image: wrap around – 2017

 

 

I have been documenting my commute over the last 6 months, and I’ve been using a Nikon D810 with a very sharp Nikon 24-70mm f2.8 zoom to do it. I’m asking the Nikon system to do a lot because I’m photographing small LED store lights with a zoom lens while in motion, during the night. So far most of the 300 – 500 images (that I’ve been making on most nights) are sharp despite the long exposures I’ve been using.

Metering for the lights (mostly LEDs) is on the fly and since I dislike blown out highlights so much it’s a thrill when it all comes together. Below are the 4 rules I’ve given myself for this series:

  1. safety first
  2. little to no blown highlights
  3. the images have to be sharp
  4. no more than 5 minutes in PS for each image

 

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

big data – 2017

 

 

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

light cycle – 2017

 

 

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

small detail from big data image above

 


 

“To abstract is to draw out the essence of a matter. To abstract in art is to separate certain fundamentals from irrelevant material which surrounds them.” – Ben Shahn

 

 

 



 

Leave a Reply

