©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

a thing constructed

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

Congress & Des Plaines St. 2016


It was unseasonably warm here in Chicago 2 weeks ago, so I got myself  down to Congress and Des Plaines and made some images of the reconstruction project.

As I was making the panorama below, I remembered that I used to work in a building only 3 blocks to the north on Des Plaines.

Soon after I moved to Chicago in 1989,  I found work as a model maker at Richard Rush Studios. The building had a complete make over a few years ago and is now called Edge Lofts and Tower. I was lucky enough to have spent 3 years in that building working with Mr. Rush – which is what you called him by the way. I called him Richard once and for some reason it felt very wrong – so after that I always called him Mr. Rush like everyone else. I wrote a little about my time there in this post.

But that was a long time ago and as I write this in early 2107, the area is now dominated by the reconstruction work being done on the Jane Byrne Circle Interchange.

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

South Des Plaines St – Chicago 2016

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

underside of the Dwight D. Eisenhower Expressway – Chicago 2017

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

panorama – Congress & Des Plaines – 2017

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

            Eisenhower ramp – Chicago 2016


The whole difference between construction and creation is exactly this: that a thing constructed can only be loved after it is constructed; but a thing created is loved before it exists.
-Charles Dickens
charlesdickens

Charles Dickens


© David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved

© David Moenkhaus

above: a guitar I built while I was at Richard Rush. I think it was a display piece that eventually went into a McDonald’s restaurant somewhere. The colorful fiberglass and resin dinosaur holding the guitar, was also built at Richard Rush Studio by the sculpture and casting department Reno and Mary and Tom in the paint department). After working on the guitar for many hours, I remember that it was very hard to see it go! The dino with the high tops that Mr. Rush is standing in front of below, also went into a McDonald’s restaurant somewhere. I made the big, wrap around sunglasses.

© David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved

Richard Rush – Chicago 1990

“If you have less time, it costs more money. If you have more money, you can do it in less time.”  – Richard Rush



Leave a Reply

