©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

you gotta just roll the dice

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

top: W. Cullerton St. & Western Ave. with Blue Line train – Chicago 2016

above: Willis & Bart with Blue Line train – Chicago 2016


When I came across the quote below from Mark Suster recently, I knew I wanted to post these two images of moving trains.

The top image was relatively easy to make on a street corner on the south side of Chicago. But when I set up my tripod on the UIC-Halsted Blue Line train platform to make the image above, I got yelled at by  CTA employees. 3 minutes after I set up my tripod they approached me and told me I had to leave. So I did what any self-respecting photographer would do – I stalled for more time.

I had only made a few, mediocre 5 second exposures and I needed another train to pass. The CTA employee was in my face when I saw another Blue Line train slowly coming out of the earth and headed toward me. Sometimes you have to push it a little and I’m glad I did because this was the last of the long exposure images I was able to make before I had to leave.


Mark Suster – from Both Sides of the Table:

I have always believed in the saying, “It’s better to beg for forgiveness than to ask for permission.”  It’s a way of life.  It’s not about abusing situations but about knowing when to push the boundaries.  It’s about knowing that the overwhelming number of people in life are naysayers and “no sayers” and sometimes you gotta just roll the dice and say WTF.



Leave a Reply

