©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

Flash light

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

 

 

One evening a couple of weeks ago, we had a hard rain followed by a thick fog.  I went out around midnight to get a breath of fresh air, and once I saw the fog I went back in to grab a camera so I could make a few images. The fog made my neighborhood look other worldly. After about an hour,  I walked around to the back yard and made these two images of our green tomatoes with a tripod, an LED flash light and an open shutter. I like going old school once in a while.

 

Normally I would bring out strobe lights to make a sharp, close up image like this, but it was late and I was tired. Luckily there was no wind and everything was very still. The images are razor-sharp, even though the exposure was 6 seconds @ f 16. 

 


 

 

harold-edgerton

Harold Eugene Edgerton aka Papa Flash, was the first person to transform the stroboscope from an obscure laboratory instrument into a common device. And of course, it changed photography forever.

“Work like hell, tell everyone everything you know, close a deal with a handshake, and have fun.”

– Harold Edgerton



Leave a Reply

