©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

PolaMaps III

PolaMap 7 – 2010

19.5″ x 27″ 

ed. 5

PolaMap 7 was selected to be included in the 2010 Evanston Biennial 

Both of these images represent early work with polarized light that I did in 2010. I had already done a couple of experiments with photographing polarized light through pieces of stressed plastic that I was working with at the time, while I was a model maker at Richard Rush Studios in the early nineties. So the idea to make a series of images (that paid homage to NASA’s beautiful LANDSAT images of the Earth’s surface) by using an idea I had remembered from the Watch Mr. Wizard TV show, really intrigued me. I’ve been working on the project ever since, and last week I made the last two images in the series. The complete body of work will be up on my website soon, but over the next few weeks I’ll be posting the images here.

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

PolaMap 13 – 2010

23.5″ x 15.5″

Ed.5


The first ever, Watch Mr. Wizard episode aired on WMAQ, Chicago’s NBC station, underwritten by The Cereal Institute. The series Watch Mr. Wizard premiered on March 3, 1951. Eventually Don Herbert and his crew would go on to make 39 live episodes of the Watch Mr. Wizard show each year until 1965, when the show was cancelled by NBC.


Leave a Reply

