©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

PolaMaps II

 

 

©David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

 

top: PolaMap 17

23″ x 15.5″

ed. 5

 

above: PolaMap 8809

29″ x 20″

ed. 5

 


 

 

This is the next installment of PolaMaps, a new series that I’m introducing here on this blog.

PolaMaps is series that was inspired partly by NASA LANDSAT imagery and partly by a television show that aired during the 60’s and 70’s called, Watch Mr. Wizard.

The show starred Don Herbert,  a likable guy who taught science on TV and looked like, well, a science teacher.

 

 

mrwizard

Don Herbert

 

 

I was frequently amazed and astounded by Mr. Wizard’s experiments and my dad, who taught college physics, often watched the show with me and would explain what was happening. Even though I didn’t really understand, I still had a great time watching those shows with him.

A few years ago while I was looking at some LANDSAT images, I was suddenly reminded of one Mr. Wizard show in particular where he explained the wonders of polarized light by using a pair of polarized sunglasses and some crinkled up plastic.So I adopted Mr. Wizard’s idea and manipulated it a little in order to create my own  LANDSAT-like images, or PolaMaps.

 

20070502-yellowstone lake 800X800

Yellowstone National Park – LANDSAT image

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

Leave a Reply

