photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

in a fraction of a second

“To me, photography is the simultaneous recognition, in a fraction of a second, of the significance of an event.”

Henri Cartier-Bresson

Henri Cartier-Bresson was born on this day in 1908
photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

I did not make either of these photographs. But of the few photographs that I own, these are some of my favorites.

Both are prints that were given to me.

The header image of the couple on the beach was given to me by my father in law. It’s just such a beautiful moment and the colors in the Kodachrome image  are awesome.

The second photograph of the man falling is one that was also given to me.

I got it from Chicago prop man Bob Volpe, who I worked with on a TV show.

 

 

early-edition

 

 

Early Edition was a prime time television show made in Chicago, starring Kyle Chandler, that aired on CBS from 1995-1999.

One day Bob came to set with a shoe box of images like this that he’d collected while working on movies in and around Chicago over the years.

He told us we could take what we wanted. I grabbed a few but I really wanted the whole box!

I’ve always wondered what was happening in the photo above of the guy falling on the sidewalk.  All I know is that it’s a production still – a moment out of time on a film set.

 

 

 

©David Moenkhaus - All Rights Reserved

Me and Kyle – Early Edition  circa 1996

 



 

Leave a Reply

