photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

Willis and Bart I

 

Step right up

A few nights ago, I had a Nikon D810 and a Nikon 14-24mm zoom lens with me and I was headed south out of Chicago. I also had a tripod and a cable release, so I stopped and made some long exposures of the skyline.

photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

 

It was cold and I decided to head home. But as I was driving down Desplaines Ave., I nearly passed by the empty lot with all the signs. It made me think of the song, “Step Right Up” by Tom Waits, seen below performing a version of the tune on the German television show Rockpalast in 1977.

 


 

 

 



 

If you’re a regular reader of this blog, you know that I frequently photograph the two buildings seen above and below:

I’ve always liked the way the two structures look together and they’ve been landmarks for me ever since I moved to Chicago.

If I ever make a book of my photographs of the two iconic Chicago buildings I might call it, Willis and Bart.

 

Willis Tower (formerly the Sears Tower) and 311 South Wacker (the Bart Simpson building)

 

photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

                             311 South Wacker & Willis Tower w/ Hilton Hotel – 2016

 

Leave a Reply

