photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

a real polite drink

photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

detail of image above at 100%

 

It’s no secret that every once in awhile, I like a nice glass of tequila. And like a lot of tequila drinkers I tend to like the reposados and anejos the most.

But I like to drink it cold and neat – with a tiny pinch of sea salt. To some tequila purests I’m sure that sounds like crazy talk and I’m sure they also believe I’m ruining good tequila by putting salt in it. #firstworldproblems

But the salt doesn’t really dissolve – it just sits at the bottom of the glass until the last sip, and that last bit of salty tequila takes me right back to the best margaritas I’ve had – on the rocks, with salt, on the beaches of Mexico.

I photographed the salt crystals above, partly because I think they are interesting to look at but also because when I was in the fourth grade, my dad photographed all kinds of crystals (including salt crystals) with my sister for her science fair project one winter. And his macro photographs of crystals really blew my mind and pretty much launched my life long love of macro photography. So these images are an homage to my dad as well.

While I was growing up, my dad used a Contax 35mm film camera with close up bellows of some kind.

I used a Canon 5Ds and the amazing Zeiss Otus 85mm f 1.4 lens to make these images.

 

Otus

 

 

 

Each of the above RAW images are 36″ x 24″ at 240 ppi and

are incredibly sharp. If I ever do end up printing these, I’d probably leave them at the

original size because I haven’t had much luck with interpolating images up over the years.

But at that original size, the amount of detail and the excellent color fidelity in the

images I made with the Canon 5Ds and a Zeiss Otus 85mm f1.4 lens, is truly astounding.

 

 

“Tequila. Straight. There’s a real polite drink. You keep drinking until you finally take one more and it just won’t go down. Then you know you’ve reached your limit.”

-Lee Marvin  

LeeMarvin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

