photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

negatives

photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus


photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Over the last few months, I’ve been scanning old negatives and transparencies on my

Nikon 9000 scanner, so there’s been a lot of black and white negatives on my light table lately.

I like the process of looking at negatives and contact sheets and using a loupe to check focus and exposure.

It’s a ritual I miss.  But I don’t miss scanning film.

And I really don’t miss how long it takes to make a good scan!

 

header image: traction dots at a Metra commuter train stop – Chicago

above: Chicago store front doors and frozen pond

 
 This heart within me I can feel, and I judge that it exists. 

This world I can touch, and I likewise judge that it exists. 

There ends all my knowledge, and the rest is construction. 

For if I try to seize this self of which I feel sure, if I try to define and 

to summarize it, it is nothing but water slipping through my fingers. 

– Albert Camus

from The Myth of Sisyphus: and Other Essays

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

