photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

Northern Michigan and Hemingway

 

© David Moenkhaus

© David Moenkhaus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was reading Hemingway’s Nick Adams Stories recently and as usual, it made me think of

my childhood in northern Michigan.

I made the 3 color  images above, while on a recent trip there.

 

Hemingway

Ernest Hemingway

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“A writer of fiction is really… a congenital liar who invents from his own knowledge or that of other men.”

– Ernest Hemingway

 

I first read Hemingway’s Nick Adams Stories when I was in college. The book of short stories made a big

impression on me because Hemingway wrote so beautifully about the feeling and atmosphere of area where

the stories in the book are set  – where he and his family summered and where I grew up.

 

photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

