Greasy Grass

 

photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bighorn arrow  – Montana

 

– from High Plains Artifacts

16″ x 20″  ed. 10

 

 

Some time after my first visit to the Little Bighorn Battlefield National Monument in 1996,  I received a packet of letters  from my Mom.

Her brother, my uncle Rich, had done some genealogy sleuthing and discovered that one of our relatives had fought and died at

the Battle of the Little Bighorn – or what Native Americans call the Battle of the Greasy Grass.

 

So the next time I was at the battlefield, I created a little bit of a buzz when I walked into the visitor center with

documents showing that one of my relatives had been killed in the battle.

For a New York minute, I felt like a minor celebrity while rangers poured over the documents and maps I had brought.

The National Park Service Rangers helped bring everything to life, and later one of them was nice enough to 

take me outside and show me our relative’s name inscribed on the tall stone obelisk near where Custer had fallen.

He also pointed me in the right direction to find the exact spot where Henry S. had fallen near the river.

 Henry S. was a private in Company G , under the Major Marcus Reno’s command.

He was born in Strausberg, Germany and died less than 1 mile southwest of the visitor center on June 25th, 1876.

It’s pretty amazing to me that my uncle was able to even find that information. And that was before the internet too. 

But it’s even more amazing that I was able to take the map out there the next year and find the spot on the land

where Henry’s body was found, more than a hundred years ago.

 

 

Ever since my first visit to the Little Bighorn Battlefield National Monument,  I’d felt a special connection to that 

place and  when I saw Henry’s name on the obelisk, I understood why.

 

 

 

LittleBighorn_map

 

Included in the research papers was this  hand drawn map of the battlefield showing the exact locations

where some of the soldiers died on those two fateful days – June 25th and 26th, 1876.

Henry (#25 on the map) was killed near Real Bird Loop, southwest of the battlefield where Custer died.

He had been one of  Major Marcus Reno’s men.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

map from:

The Custer Battle Casulties – Burials, Exhumations and Reinterments

by Richard G. Hardorff

Upton and Sons, publishers

1989

LittleBighornMapsmall

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“He put in your heart certain wishes and plans; in my heart, he put other different desires.”

Sitting Bull

 

image from the Library of Congress l:Red Cloud r: American Horse

image from the Library of Congress
l:Red Cloud r: American Horse

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Big arrow – Montana

photographic details: Graflex Crown Graphic 4×5 on Fuji Velvia

One thought on “Greasy Grass

Leave a Reply

