photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

San Fran shoe shine man

 

“Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful, we must carry it with us or we find it not.”

– Ralph Waldo Emerson

photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

©David Moenkhaus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

San Fran shoe shine man – 2004

 

Hasselblad 501 CM w/ 80mm lens – Kodak Ektar 100  film

 

A few years ago while travelling through San Francisco, I met this man a few doors down from where I was staying at the Clift Hotel.

He was comfortably ensconced in a very cleverly built, fold out shoe shine stand at the beautiful and historic A.C.T Geary Theater.

His name is Joe Azzolini and he’s  a bona fide San Francisco legend as this piece from 2004 in the SFGate illustrates.

 

What’s cool about this whole thing is that when I started this blog post, all I had was this one image that I made of the shoe shine master.

He let me make a few exposures of him and we briefly chatted but I didn’t take very good notes back then, nor did I bother to write his name down!

But for some reason tonight, I remembered where I made the photograph. I used Google maps to travel back to 405 Geary Street and there

in the Streetview image,  you can just barely make out “Joe Azzolini – Shine”

Seeing that sign in Streetview brought back the fun memory of my short time with Joe, but it also made me think of the now famous Pink Floyd tune,  Shine on You Crazy Diamond.

 

“Shine On You Crazy Diamond (I-V)”

lyrics by Roger Waters, Richard Wright and David Gilmour

Remember when you were young, you shone like the sun.
Shine on you crazy diamond.
Now there’s a look in your eyes, like black holes in the sky.
Shine on you crazy diamond.
You were caught in the crossfire of childhood and stardom, blown on the steel breeze.
Come on you target for faraway laughter, come on you stranger, you legend, you martyr, and shine!

You reached for the secret too soon, you cried for the moon.
Shine on you crazy diamond.
Threatened by shadows at night, and exposed in the light.
Shine on you crazy diamond.
Well you wore out you’re welcome with random precision, rode on the steel breeze.
Come on you raver, you seer of visions, come on you painter, you piper, you prisoner, and shine!

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “San Fran shoe shine man

Leave a Reply

