© David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved

A Father’s Day homage

I thought it would be cool to honor my Dad with this image on Father’s Day.

This is a close up of the striking surface of a wooden mallet. It’s one of my Dad’s tools and it really brings to life the

history of blows the hammer made while in his hands.

He passed away in 1987 and I still really miss him but when I photograph his tools I feel closer to him.

photo details: Zeiss 100mm macro lens on a D800.

 

 


 

 

Walking in the Garden

 

 

My father and I, we walk together
along the uneven rows
among the moist and musky plants,
cool dirt between our toes
I think of when he left me
it tore me completely apart
and I’ve labored hard like Sisyphus
to mend my broken heart
Recently I’ve been seeing him again,
in very unlikely forms,
every man I come in contact with
is my father miraculously reborn
We’ve been working very hard together
healing wounds and speaking our needs
we’ve been crawling around getting dirty
planting our healing seeds
My father and I have a lot more work to do
digging in the dirt
opening our hearts, looking inside
and mending tremendous hurt
Oh we’ll weep and wail and laugh and lament
sometimes we might even fight
but we’ll tend to  our neglected garden
in the magic of the soft evening light
-David Moenkhaus

 

 

© David Moenkhaus

Art Moenkhaus © David Moenkhaus

My Dad was a great man, and one of the many gifts he gave me was teaching me to work with my hands.

He taught me how to work with wood and how to be a really good model maker, too. I was able to use those skills years later in Detroit building models and miniatures for the movie,  Evil Dead II . After graduating from the University of Michigan, I was hired by a special effects and animation studio in Detroit and owned by Tom Hitchcock called Illuminations, and we built the models and miniatures for the cult classic movie.

Later when I moved to Chicago, I was able to put those skills to use again as a model maker at Richard Rush Studios.

 

Protect your hands

Library of Congress

 



 

2 thoughts on “A Father’s Day homage

Leave a Reply

