© David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

17 Miles of Shoreline – 3 pilings

 

© David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© DAVID MOENKHAUS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16″ x 20″  archival pigment on Hahnemühle Photo Rag  watercolor paper.
Ed. 15
This image is from my series entitled “17 Miles of Shoreline”,  a series of photographs I shot primarily on transparency film along a 17 mile stretch of lake Michigan in Chicago over the span of about 10 years.
Ever since I moved to Chicago in 1989,  I’ve been shooting at the lake almost religiously. I always just feel sort of pulled there.
When I first started this series,  I thought it was about man’s attempt to control the lake with pilings, docks, breakwaters and other similar feats of civil engineering – you know, the folly of trying to control nature.
But after living with the series for awhile, I realized the work was really about something much more simple.
I grew up next to Lake Michigan – up in northern lower Michigan. The lake is home to me.  I always feel solid and OK with the world next to a lake.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

