© David Moenkhaus - All Rights Reserved 773 612-4166

Nebraska church

© David Moenkhaus - All Rights Reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus – All Rights Reserved

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I-80 church – Nebraska 1995

 

One year, while travelling through Nebraska I found this abandoned church along I-80.

I had recently bought an old Graflex Crown Graphic “press” camera on E Bay and promptly went out and got a few boxes of Type 55 Polaroid film to go with it. Up until that point,  I had not used the iconic film and was really looking forward to making some images with it to document what I was seeing on the land.

This image is from a body of work I’m editing called High Plains – 55.  All the images in the series were shot on Polaroid type 55 film during  13 trips I made to the American west,  a decade ago.

It was 1995 and right before Polaroid stopped making the iconic film. But, with much persistence  I was able to find, acquire and squirrel away a dozen boxes of the stuff to use while I traveled through Nebraska, Wyoming, South Dakota and North Dakota. I still have a couple of boxes of type 55 in the refrigerator, and I hope to use the old discontinued film somehow on some future project. Even though its been refrigerated over the years, its long past it’s prime. I hope to exploit that in some way on a  future project.

After exposing a few sheets,  I became slightly annoyed that the front door of the church wouldn’t stay closed during the long exposures I was using.

For some reason, I though it would look better closed.

But I soon realized that the blur of the door opening and closing during the long 5 minute exposure actually enhanced the image.

Sometimes I get something in my head that I want to create and I forget to just let things happen sometimes.  It’s just  good  be open to the unexpected.

 

This image was published in the last issue of Polaroid’s P Magazine, issue #28.

 

“An essential aspect of creativity is not being afraid to fail.”

– Edwin Land

 

Leave a Reply

