© David Moenkhaus - All Rights Reserved 773 612-4166

Woody and the Rooster

A few years ago, I made an image of our dog, Woody with our handmade wooden Mexican rooster. I hastily shot him one night when the idea to pose them together came to me. But I shot Woody and his rooster pal, with my little Canon G9 on a pool table and while I liked the image,  it always bugged me that I didn’t use a better camera with a bigger sensor.

I got my chance last night. I rolled out some white paper,  put the articulated and beautifully painted rooster on a chair we got at a flea market, and then introduced my dog Woody. He’s a good boy and very curious.  So the first thing he did when I moved him into position was smell the rooster of course, as any good dog would.  But then inexplicably and as an added bonus to the brief session, Woody offered up his paw to his new friend.  I laughed out loud and ruined the moment, of course but not before making this second image of the two characters.

I had two small Chimera strip boxes   on each side  to ligh them – very quick and simple. But the main things is that I love the combination of shooting with a Nikon D800 and a Zeiss ZF lens, usually the  beautiful 100mm macro.    https://lenses.zeiss.com/camera-lenses/en_de/camera_lenses/slr-lenses/distagont2815.html  The 36 megapixel raw files out of the D800 are tack sharp and bursting with detail, but when you have Zeiss lenses on that camera body, you open up a whole other way of seeing, in my opinion.

It took me about 1/2 hour to get these images and that’s largely because the D1 Air kit is so quick to set up.  The 2 light 500 watt kit I used is light, compact, and is easy to travel with. It comes with 2 stands and 2 umbrellas and the Air remote, the heart of the system.  http://profoto.com/int/products/monolights-kits-associated-accessories/d1-monolights/item/d1-air-500

I  like the Zeiss ZE and ZF range of lenses because they remind me of the old MK II Panavision primes from years ago.  Not the Primos from the nineties, but the Mark II  Superspeeds before them.  These Zeiss lenses remind me of the look of those great old Panavision  prime lenses. http://www.panavision.com/history    Both sets of lenses are also razor sharp and solidly built – they feel good in your hand.

I know –  how can I even compare Panavision optics with a German lens maker’s optics?  But to my eye there is something kind of similar about the two sets of lenses.

This shot was just a quick test I did last night to try the D1 Air 500 watt kit out,  but I ended up really liking both images.

© David Moenkhaus - All Rights Reserved 773 612-4166© David Moenkhaus - All Rights Reserved 773 612-4166

Leave a Reply

