© David Moenkhaus - All Rights Reserved

Frozen feet

© David Moenkhaus - All Rights Reserved

One night, awhile ago in the depths of February, I needed some fresh air.  So I grabbed my camera and my dog and went for a frigid walk at midnight.

We made our way over to the hill where Woody likes to blow off  steam every once in a while, and found a little 30′ neighborhood ice rink.

After running and chasing Woody for 15 minutes in the deep snow, my feet were pretty warm. To cool them down,  I took off my shoes and walked around on the ice for a bit. It felt amazingly good,  too  –  for the first 2 minutes anyway.

Woody just gave me that “dude, what the…?” look that terriers give their owners from time to time.

So I made some images of my foot and hand  prints on the ice,  then went home and thawed out.

I Am Not I

I am not I.

I am this one

Walking beside me whom I do not see,

Whom at times I manage to visit,

And at times I forget.

The one who remains silent when I talk,

The one who forgives, sweet, when I hate,

The one who takes a walk when I am indoors,

The one who will remain standing when I die.

-Juan Ramon Jimenez

Leave a Reply

