© David Moenkhaus - All Rights Reserved 773 612-4166

Electric pole kudzu

This is an image I made while stopped by the side of the road somewhere in northern Michigan last year.

It may be kudzu, the invasive species that’s covering the Southeast US in a green embrace.

According to botanists and other  scientists,  “Kudzu was introduced from Japan into the United States at the Japanese pavilion in the 1876 Centennial Exposition in Philadelphia. It is now common along roadsides and other disturbed areas  throughout most of the southeastern United States. It has been spreading at the rate of 150,000 acres (61,000 ha) annually.” 

I’ve seen the damage it’s done here in the US and I agree it’s bad and it’s way out of control. But I also think it’s beautiful the way things look when completely covered in the green vegetation. It’s unusual and  It’s breathtaking how it seems to quickly and  easily cover over and smother houses, barns and other large and small structures.

Here’s a link to some photographs of things covered in kudzu. http://www.jjanthony.com/kudzu/

Does anyone know if this is kudzu?

 

 

© David Moenkhaus - All Rights Reserved 773 612-4166

4 thoughts on “Electric pole kudzu

  1. Never heard of it, thanks for the info though. I feel I learned something and now I wish I knew what the name of it was! haha
    All I can think of is something called Japanese Knotweed, but I know its not that.

Leave a Reply

