© David Moenkhaus - All Rights Reserved (773) 612-4166

High Plains cattle call

Somewhere in Wyoming one year, on one of my  trips out to the high plains, I stopped and made this image of a bunch of cows at magic hour.

I had passed them going 80. I was racing the sun so I could to get to a state park in time to pitch my tent, have dinner out of the back of the Jeep and enjoy another warm and quiet evening on the plains.

As I got close and set up the camera, they started moving away, of course.

But, after standing still for a 1/2 hour they sure enough, all came back over and ended up in this bovine formation.

© David Moenkhaus - All Rights Reserved (773) 612-4166

High plains cattle ©David Moenkhaus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I said out loud to them…”Thank you all for coming. Now relax, you look absolutely gorgeous – we’ll have this photo done in a New York minute.”

Startled at the sound of my voice, they quickly moved away again and I had to wait another 20 minutes or so before they all got enough courage to come back over to where I was.

Leave a Reply

