photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

Pinhole kitchen II

This is an image from my “Pinhole Kitchen” series.  I bought a Tektronix C30 waveform camera on e-Bay a couple of years ago and took it apart, modified it and made it into a pinhole camera that shoots Polaroid Type 669 film. Before this awesome Polaroid film was discontinued, I bought a bunch of it and used it for the series.

This work came about after I had randomly recalled a dream I had when I was a little boy. It was an odd dream where I was very tiny and I was inside of a box cheese grater. I don’t know why I was tiny and inside the grater, but there I was and it was both terrifying and beautiful at the same time. This dream stayed with me for many, many years.

With this series I’m exploiting the nature of pinhole photography where everything from near to far is in focus. By placing the kitchen utensils extremely close to the pinhole “lens”, not only are the utensils in focus front to back but they’re slightly distorted too, oddly similar to what I saw in my dream.

For this image in the series,  I placed an old flour sifter over the pinhole camera and made a 30 minute exposure with one light.

Pinhole_sifter

7 thoughts on “Pinhole kitchen II

  1. What a great concept for a series of pinhole images. At first I thought this was an image from within a basilica of some sort, I’m even more thrilled to read that it’s a pinhole of.. a flour sifter! I am really looking forward to seeing more of this.

Leave a Reply

