photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

Cut paper

 

More close up work but this time it’s an image of the side of a pad of paper –  shot handheld with my little Canon G9.

I worked in a print shop in college and I learned how to use the giant knife slicer that cut big stacks of paper. So, my experience tells me the diagonal line is  the path that a very sharp blade traveled when someone in China sliced through the 5″ thick pad.

The pad is made of old recycled Chinese magazine pages on the back side and that’s what the horizontal lines  are.

 

“Abstraction demands more from me than realism. Instead of reproducing something outside of me, now I go inward and use everything I’ve learned thus far in my life.”      
-Susan Avishai

 

Leave a Reply

