photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

Grant Park – Chicago

Over the last few years I’ve been working on my platinum series titled simply, Grant Park. It’s some of the most rewarding and fun work I’ve done in a long time.

I photographed the series on black and white film, wet scanned the negatives, then made 11X14″ digital negatives in order to make platinum prints. The process of old school contact printing in platinum and making digital negatives has been something that I’ve wanted to try for many years and it’s proven to be just as cool as I thought it would be. There’s something about making something with your hands that’s very rewarding and really satisfying.

This image was made near Buckingham Fountain in the heart of grant Park and the tracks in the snow were made by a police car.

I usually work alone and I do most of my work from dusk to well past darkness,  so it’s really nice to have Chicago’s finest pass by once in awhile while I’m working!

Grant Park - Chicago

Grant Park – Chicago

4 thoughts on “Grant Park – Chicago

  1. Hi David, long time reader first time commenter haha, I’ve been subscribed to your blog for years. Keep up the good work. I blog over at http://chicagorants.com/, I wanted to reach out to you to collaborate on something but there is no email on your site. How can I reach you? or you can find my email on my ‘about’ page

Leave a Reply

