photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

Roll the dice II

On A Pair Of Dice

We are little brethren twain,
Arbiters of loss and gain,
Many to our counters run,
Some are made, and some undone:
But men find it to their cost,
Few are made, but numbers lost.
Though we play them tricks for ever,
Yet they always hope our favour.

Jonathan Swift
Dice in motion

Dice in motion

I’ve been experimenting with photographing the beautiful motion of dice. I used a Canon 1Ds Mk III and used a shutter speed of 1/30th. Motion is a big part of my work, either objects smearing and blurring across the image due to long shutter speeds or motion with the camera during exposure. I think my time as a cameraman in the movie business has as much to do with my use of motion in my still photography as the fact that I simply like how it looks.

2 thoughts on “Roll the dice II

Leave a Reply

