photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

Dinosaur guitar

When I first  moved to Chicago to get into the movie business,  I took a job to pay the bills while I worked my way through the cameraman’s union apprenticeship program.

Since I had made some models and miniatures for the visual effects studio I had worked at in Detroit and had photographed them,  I was able to land a couple of job offers at 2 different model making studios in Chicago. I accepted the job at Richard Rush Studios, then spent the next 3 years building props,  and making models full time.  While I was making models there,  I also learned how to weld,  work with  plexiglass,  wood,  sheet metal,  resin and fiberglass. There were a lot of very talented people at Richard Rush and  the work was very interesting.

On my days off,  I’d go out with a seasoned union AC and work with them as an apprentice on a TV commercial or some other production.

I was enjoying the work at Richard rush Studios but the more I went out on film jobs the less I wanted to build models.  I finally got a call to be the intern on “The Babe” directed by Arthur Hiller and photographed by Haskell Wexler. But before I gave my notice and left all the dust and paint fumes behind,  I was presented with a brand new guitar and was told I needed to make it look like the fin of a ’57 Chevy.  It had to light up, too.  It was to be attached to the dinosaur which someone else at Rush Studios made, and shipped to a McDonald’s restaurant somewhere.  So I cut up a perfectly good guitar and after many hours, made this.

Dino_guitar

Leave a Reply

