photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

Distressed Paper Project

My father in law recently gave me some big sheets of vintage watercolour paper.  He’s always trying to give me stuff. Through the years I’ve realized he does this as a way to show his love, but he also wants his stuff to go to a good home.  He’s a wonderful guy and I love him.

Around the same time I received the paper,  I was going through a challenging time in my life, and felt I was suffering more than my fair share of life’s  “slings and arrows.”  The experience was tough, but later I realized I was much better off having gone through it.

I had the paper for quite some time before I figured out what to do with it.   I wondered what would happen if I put it through some tough times.  I wanted to see what it would look like after  ripping,  cutting,  wadding up and generally distressing it.  I found it became even more interesting and beautiful when distressed and injured.

 

“Hoodie”

2 thoughts on “Distressed Paper Project

Leave a Reply

