photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

Sears Tower 13

This is an image from the series I’m working on called  Through the Windshield.  I’m not sure it will make the final edit but I really like it. All the images in the series were made shooting through the windows of my car while commuting to Chicago over the last two years.  I’ve had one tripod set up in between the driver and passenger seats  in front and one or two aimed out the side rear window.  I’ve been able to remotely trigger the cameras while driving so I can keep my eyes on the road and my hands on the wheel. The images in this series are  simply a result of trying to be productive on an otherwise repetitive and often uneventful  commute everyday.

Since I’ve I put cameras in the car and started shooting during my travels into and out of Chicago,  I started to see the city in a different way.

I began to see the dense urban forest of  high tension power line poles, cell towers and street light poles as lyrically beautiful vertical patterns.  Patterns help me make more sense of an often chaotic world and are a major element in my work.

The building in the  image is Willis Tower in Chicago. Formerly know as the Sears Tower, it was renamed Willis Tower in 2009.

WillisTower13

Leave a Reply

