photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

Through the Windshield

I’ve had a rule over the years that I don’t show work before it’s finished.  But in the interest of trying  something different,  this week on this blog I’m showing some images from my new series, Through the Windshield.  I haven’t yet thought about its final form, and I’m enjoying looking at alternatives to presenting the work.  I’ve been looking forward to trying the Blurb plugin in Lightroom to make a magazine or a book and I may do that with the roughly 20-25 images in this collection, .

I’m exploring the remarkable graphic patterns of the communication antennas,  cell towers, and streetlights that line our roadways, but  I’m also looking at the  complex issues associated with living in a post 9/11 world and how that event led to the  incredibly rapid deployment and acceptance of surveillance camera in cities around the world.

I have mixed feelings about all those vertical lines I see everyday.  On the one hand, they are very compelling and beautiful to me – I like patterns.  On the other hand,  there’s a certain sinister and creepy Big Brother element in all those cameras and towers that makes me uncomfortable.  But at the end of the day,  I’m all for better communication, brightly lit roadways and the ability to track the bad guys better.

So this particular image in the series is pretty indicative of the amount of lighting, camera and communication equipment I see everyday, all around me during my commute.

Through_The_WindshieldIMG_6265-Edit

Leave a Reply

