© David Moenkhaus - All Rights Reserved 773 612-4166

Grant Park – Chicago

I’ve been making photographs in Chicago’s  Grant Park  since I moved here years ago. Grant Park is a beautiful public space that serves as the the site for many concerts, and food festivals  throughout the year and it’s a place I’ve  loved going to often.

This series was primarily created over the last few years, during  autumn and winter. The craggy old trees attracted me at first, and I’ve been shooting  there ever since.

All the images in the series are printed in platinum. It’s a beautiful process whereby I make an 11″ x 14″  platinum print from a digital negative, and then print the platinum image on  fine water color paper.  The image is kind of “in” the paper instead of on top of it like a traditional pigment print is. I love making platinum  prints  because I’m making something hand made , and the final prints are very luminescent and beautiful.

This image is looking north over the commuter tracks east of Michigan Ave.  during a very foggy day.

GrantParkTrainTracks©DavidMoenkhaus

Leave a Reply

