photo: © David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

Punch Brothers

What I didn’t realize when I started this blog a few years ago was how much care and feeding it would take. So, after quite a long hiatus  from this blog,  I’m pretty much back.

 

Last night Mrs. Moenkhaus and I ventured out to  “The Vic” theater in Chicago and saw the Punch Brothers.  The historic theater was built in 1912 and  the Punch Brothers rocked the joint with their great contemporary  blend of traditional bluegrass, metal,  punk  and a bunch of other musical styles. Approximately 1400 people experienced a joyous, passionate, and sometimes raucous  mix of well written tunes, played brilliantly by some young guys who seem to be having a lot of fun. The arrangements were beautiful and and the crowd was really into it.

I brought my little Canon G9 point & shoot but the level of the stage lighting at The Vic was so low,  I had to crank my ASA to 400, and even then it was 1/30 of a second WFO.  I stayed in the same place and didn’t try to get closer – the show was a sell out so moving around wasn’t an option.  I still remember the days before cell phone cameras where cameras at a concert/show would be confiscated before you got inside!  So, I only shot a few images from about 75′ away last night because I wanted o enjoy the Punch Brothers.

Last night,though, I let myself enjoy the concert. I had to force myself to stop thinking visually so much and soak in the experience! What a show.

Me and the Mrs. thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was the last night of the tour they closed it in style. Thanks for a great show last night Punch Brothers!

Click on images to enlarge.

Leave a Reply

