© David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

Night boats 2 – West Bay

 

© David Moenkhaus - all rights reserved 773 612-4166

© David Moenkhaus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

West Bay – Traverse City, Michigan 2003

4 minute exposure on Fuji Velvia

This image is really indicative of my early  work.

I still use long exposure times in my still photography and  I  frequently work from dusk through to dawn when shooting landscapes. But I’m currently doing some interesting table top work as well – a different kind of landscape photography.

I like this image of my hometown mostly because of how the long exposure smears time and color. And because it was a beautiful summer night when I made this image.

But I also like the photograph for  it’s  historical significance.

I made this image before the old power plant that sat on the beautiful shore of West Bay was finally and thankfully, dismantled and removed.

It’s an awesome public space now and I still try to get there when I visit. I get recharged when I see that great view of the West arm of Grand Traverse Bay  a.k.a., Lake Michigan.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment